MS Week was last week (19th – 15th April) and MS is something that is challenging for many who have the disability. 

What is MS?

Multiple Sclerosis (MS) is a condition that can affect the brain and spinal cord. Once you get MS, it is a long-lasting condition which mostly is mild but can sometimes cause serious disability. 

Symptoms can include;

  1. Fatigue 
  2. Difficulty Walking 
  3. Vision problems, such as blurred vision
  4. Problems controlling the bladder 
  5. Numbness or tingling in different parts of the body 
  6. Muscle stiffness and spasms
  7. Problems with balance and coordination 
  8. Problems with thinking, learning and planning

It is a condition that can be treated and it’s frequently diagnosed in people who are in their 20s or 30s. Yet, it can still develop at any age. It’s 2 or 3 times more likely to develop in women than in men.

The Three Types of MS

  • Relapsing MS is where people have attacks of new and old symptoms. Around 85% of people with MS are diagnosed with RRMS. In between these attacks there is a remission period where you may not have any symptoms at all or symptoms may be somewhat steady. 
  • Primary progressive is where symptoms slowly get worse over time and are often subtle rather than appearing as relapses. This type of MS affects around 10-15% of people that have the disability.
  • Secondary progrssive is where the MS comes after the relapsing remitting MS for many people. With this type of MS, the disability gets steadily worse. You’re no longer likely to have relapse when your symptoms get worse but then they get better.